While you use TomTom Sports via a device or app, information is continuously captured and stored. This includes information about your location, heart rate and step rate.
You can enable various TomTom Sports features and approve the ways your information is used. We will only use the information to run the features and purposes you have enabled and authorized. You can change your permission status at any time via the product settings or through your TomTom account.
If you disable a feature, the information that was sent to TomTom earlier will remain available. You can delete information you store in TomTom Sports at any time.
You can go to more information to read who has access to your information, get information about your rights and where we store your data.
You can use the following TomTom Sports applications together with your TomTom Sports device:
The operating system software may ask for additional permissions to access your address book, phone call history, text messages, camera, photos and location as required to enable notifications, connectivity, information uploading and sharing on social media when compatible TomTom sports devices connect with your mobile device. This information will not be sent to TomTom. You can change the status at any time via the mobile settings.
By registering your name and email address via MySports.tomtom.com, you will be able to receive support, participate in our user forums and download software updates. You can connect your device to your computer or mobile device, allow to upload information to TomTom or authorize other apps to receive this data. After each upload the information is deleted from your TomTom Sports device. The information captured by your device can be uploaded each time you connect your device to TomTom Sports applications. You will be able to view your information in various reports and graphs, showing your progress and results. If you use a TomTom Sports device that captures your location, you can also view where you have been on a map when you have enabled the location feature.
If you choose to share your activities and progress via social media, other people will see your username, activity information and location details. You can also configure an automated export of your activities to other sports websites. You can stop sharing your information at any time via the product settings or through your TomTom account.
Via the applications you can create statistics and rankings using your gender, weight, height, body composition, age, activities locations and history to compare how you perform and progress against other anonymized and aggregated TomTom Sports users with similar profiles. Your aggregated anonymized data will be used for future rankings. If you disable this feature, TomTom will no longer generate your statistics and rankings and you can’t access any aggregated data from other TomTom Sports users.
You can configure device features and settings of the TomTom Sports Watch and Fitness Tracker to explicitly allow the device to collect and store the following types of information after the successful registration with TomTom Sports:
- Your user profile, including age, gender, height and weight
- Activity time, burned calories and distance
- Heart rate, sleep time, location, speed, pace, altitude, ascent and descent
- Diagnostic information about crashes and errors
Please note that this information could provide details about your health and this data will only be uploaded to TomTom for purposes mentioned after you have specifically allowed sharing this data. The data is by default processed on the device through measurements by the device location, motion and hearth rate sensors.
To work correctly, your TomTom Action Camera continuously captures and stores information when you record a video, including information about your location, action data and when enabled and allowed, heart rate. Please note that this information could provide details about your health and this data will only be uploaded to TomTom for purposes mentioned after you have specifically allowed sharing this data.
You can easily retrieve your information through companion applications and remove the data from the video file when you use the Bandit mobile app to create a story. You can actively upload information to TomTom when you pair the Action Camera with your mobile or insert your battery USB stick into your computer. You can also share videos to platforms such as YouTube, Facebook or Vimeo. Social media providers will use your information subject to their privacy policies, TomTom has no control over this.
By registering your name and email address, you will be able to receive support, participate in our user forums and download software updates. We can use your aggregated usage statistics to provide you with tips and suggestions to improve your videos and stories. You can opt out via MySports settings.
You can delete or download your data at any time via your TomTom account, TomTom applications or your device. Deleting your registration means automatic deletion of all your information without the possibility to restore it.